Arts Law 2013 Pro Bono Awards

24th June 2013

Arts Law 2013 Pro Bono Awards (c) Claire Louise Laing

On Wednesday 29th May 2013, Arts Law celebrated the pro bono work of lawyers around the country who give back through their pro bono work in the arts community. For the last 9 years, Arts Law has commissioned a print to award to 30 lawyers celebrating their significant pro bono contribution.  This year’s lino print titled “Dancing brolga” was created by Aboriginal artist Elliot Koonutta from Pormpuraaw Art Centre in Far North Queensland.  For the first time, this year in addition to 28 lawyers from Arts Law’s pro bono panel, Arts Law also recognised two lawyers nominated by the arts community for their support and contributions.

“Dancing brolga” Elliot Koonutta - Arts Law 2013 Pro Bono Awards (c) Claire Louise Laing

President of the NSW Court of Appeal and President of the Arts Law Centre of Australia Justice Margaret Beazley and renowned Aboriginal singer, Emma Donovan presented the winners with their award.

The winners were of the 2013 Arts Law Pro bono Awards were Joel Barrett (Allens<>Linklaters), Melanie Bouton (Herbert Smith Freehills), Elizabeth Burrows (Influence Legal), Chris Chow (Chris Chow Creative Lawyers), Stephen Digby (Digby Law), Jamie Doran (Clayton Utz), Stephanie Faulkner (Wrays Lawyers), Rebekah Gay (Shelston IP Lawyers), Katherine Giles (ABC Legal Services), Julia Godfrey (DLA Piper Australia), Emily Hawcroft (Minter Ellison), Julian Hewitt (Media Arts Lawyers), Brendan Hoffman (Gadens), Luke Holmes (DLA Piper Australia), Raena Lea-Shannon (Entertainment Media Technology), Harold Littler (McKays Solicitors), Jose Perez (Perez Varela Lawyers), Stephanie Quan Sing (Rio Tinto), Ian Robertson (Holding Redlich), Melissa Sanghera (Herbert Smith Freehills), Darren Sanicki (GI & Sanicki Lawyers), Tiffany Stephenson (Department of Defence), Jeremy Storer (Storers Legal ), Michael Tucak (Creative Legal ), David Vodicka (Media Arts Lawyers), Jodie Wauchope (Gadens), Clare Young (Allens<>Linklaters), Tony Joyner, Rene Steffaniti and Matt O’Leary (Herbert Smith Freehills).

Arts Law 2013 Pro Bono Awards (c) Claire Louise Laing

The winners of the Arts Community Award were Jonathan Feder (K&L Gates) and Nicholas Linke (Fisher Jeffries).

Last year Arts Law, through its dedicated staff, provided services to over 5000 artists and arts organisations in 2012. This included 2454 legal advices and 843 document review sessions supported by lawyers from the Arts Law Pro bono panel.  Lawyers interested in becoming part of the Arts Law Pro bono panel can read more here ( )