23 April
Amanda Chen and Sophie Nickel of Ensemble Apex perform at the 2021 Pro bono Awards. Photo by Emily Phipps.

2021 Pro Bono Award winners announced

On the evening of Wednesday 21 April Arts Law held our annual Pro Bono Awards, generously hosted by King & Wood Mallesons at their Sydney offices. This was a fantastic opportunity to catch up, in person, with our valued pro bono lawyers, coordinators and other professionals who give their time to Arts Law. There was a great buzz and feeling off good will through the crowd after the 2020 event was inevitably cancelled.

Michael West of Metropolitan Aboriginal Land Council kicked off the evening with stirring and uplifting Welcome to  Country that highlighted the ongoing need for cooperation, community and kindness.  Amanda Chen and Sophie Nickel from Ensemble Apex treated us to a special performance of The Halvorsen Passacaglia. It was so wonderful to be able to host and hear live music. You can find Ensemble Apex on social media @ensembleapex.

We were also honoured to hear a few words from Berkeley Cox, Chief Executive Partner Australia KWM, and Arts Law President, The Honorable Justice John Sackar.

The evening was even capped off with an impromptu fireworks display!

Congratulations to all our Pro Bono Award Winners. Each of these individuals has made an extraordinary contribution to Arts Law by volunteering their time and expertise. Without each of you we would not have the reach and impact that we do. We have also given three awards to firms who have given exceptional support over the last year.

2021 Pro Bono Award Winners – Individuals:

Howard Adams CornerSoul

Derek Baigent    Griffith Hack

Emilie Blake        Marque Lawyers

Elizabeth Burrows            Influence Legal

Rachel Chua       Australian Government Solicitor

Tiernan Christensen       Allens

Jack Collings       Griffith Hack

Harry Croft          Hall & Wilcox

Stephen Dodd   Dentons

Guy Donovan     Holding Redlich

Michael Easton Easton Legal

Juliet Evans         Griffith Hack

Katherine Giles MinterEllison

Jennifer Goh      Lander & Rogers

Jesse Gordes     Solubility

Tina Guan           Sparke Helmore

Luke Hawthorne               King & Wood Mallesons

Lyn Kemmis        SBS

Nicholas Linke   Dentons

Thomas Lynch    Kay & Hughes

EdLyons               Lander & Rogers

Ian McDonald    Simpsons Solicitors

Moira McKenzie               Sanicki Lawyers

Shariqa                 Mestroni             Bird & Bird

Patricia                 Monemvasitis   Carroll & O’Dea

Jules Munro       Simpsons Solicitors

YasminNaghavi Media Arts Lawyers

Richard Potter   153 Phillip Barristers

Darren Sanicki   Sanicki Lawyers

Tamara Sims       Colin Biggers & Paisley

Michael Tucak   Creative Legal

Mark Williamson              Quest Legal

2021 Pro Bono Award Winners – Firms:


Australian Government Solicitor

King & Wood Mallesons